top of page

ABOUT ME 

IMG_2146.JPG

Tyanne, a Philadelphia/New Jersey based lifestyle blogger. Follow her on her journey as she jumps into the fashion industry with a fresh mind and new perspectives... 

 

Want to learn more about Tyanne?

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Never Miss

The Latest Practically Poised News

PostsThat You'll Love

Related Posts  

You Need to Check Out

Escalera Design 95: Imael Escalera Exclusive

Recently I came into contact with footwear designer, Imael Escalera. He is a new designer starting out with his brand, Escalera Design 95. I noticed his designs on instagram @escalera.design and I was really intrigued. I wanted to learn more so I picked his brain a bit with an interview.

Imael Escalera was born March 31, 1995. He is well known as an influential hispanic footwear designer from Brooklyn, New York. On his own initiative he acquired extensive knowledge and skill of the footwear industry. He founded Escalera Design in 2016 with one mission in mind; setting out to craft the highest quality in high-end footwear design. While comfort is prominent, he is also committed to the process in which his designs are made to resemble the future with unique and careful detailing.

How did you develop your interest in fashion design?

I developed my interest in fashion through reading various popular fashion magazines. I would view the advertisements in placed while carefully observing trends. I would also take trips to manhattan and roam the city looking at top designer brand window displays. It was then I discovered fashion is art and noisy importantly fashion is about telling a story.

When did you realize that you wanted to design footwear specifically?

I've always had an intrest in footwear but before choosing to design footwear as a main focus, I would research frequently about the footwear industry. It was after gaining an extensive knowledge of the footwear industry where I felt I could produce designs the world has never seen or thought of before. Keeping in mind to present different features and structures. It also helped me distinguish my own style as I plan to have my designs stand out from the ordinary.

Where did you learn to draw? Are you self taught or did you learn in school?

As a child I was very creative. I would craft just about anything. As far as learning how to draw I learned on my own. I would draw often on my time of leisure as a teenager. In high school I had an art course with teachings of the basics in art. In college I had an art history course where i've studied multiple art movements and examined famous pieces of art in depth. These courses helped me gain a deeper understanding of art as a whole.

How do you plan on furthering your design experience? (ex: college, internship, networking, travel)

Well, I plan on furthering my design experience through networking. I believe with networking and gaining essential connections for Escalera Design the brand would progress a little further and gain opportunities to work with others should arise. With networking Escalera Design would gain more recognition, this exposure of the company is very important to outreach across the globe revolutionizing fashion and taking it to the next level.

Who are you as a designer? What is your style?

As a designer, I would consider myself a perfectionist. I set out to craft the highest quality in high-end footwear design. Keeping in mind that comfort is prominent, i'm committed to the process in which each design I craft should display numerous distinctive structures along with a futuristic aesthetic to create an aggressive athletic appearance. My style would be defined as futuristic. I vision the world as a single book. The diversity of the people are seen as the pages. The chapters are set into years. The v story is our story. The purpose of life in my opinion is to impact, build and instill a positive change for the future.

What is your favorite part about being a designer?

My favorite part about being a designer is illustrating the future of footwear from my point of view. What I also enjoy about being a designer is sketching new ideas and figuring out how to bring them to life.

How did you come up with your company name, Escalera Design 95?

I I would have to say my favorite part about being a designer is sketching new ideas and figuring out how to bring them to life.

The designs you have created are great but what was the inspiration behind them?

As a fanatic of the aeronautics, advanced technology, expedition and discovery, these things play a huge role on the inspiration for my designs. Each design at most are personal depictions of extraterrestrial life forms, space crafts, tools etc. My approach of designing footwear with a futuristic styling incorporates the exploration of space. Each design is created unisex.

What are some of your greatest accomplishments as a designer thus far?

Some of the accomplishments Escalera Design has so far would be developing designs that are distinctive. Each design displays a unique two parallel horned like solar panels. I am an Aries and chose to have a symbolic structure to include to resemble the rams horns. Another would be serving as an influential footwear designer for other aspiring footwear designers when it comes to building a successful footwear brand from scratch.

What experiences have contributed to your success and the designer you are today?

The experiences of trial and error are a major factor that contributes to my success as a designer as well as connecting with various photographers, designers, models etc. All connections lead to learning more about the fashion and footwear industry.

What excites you about the fashion industry?

What excites me about the fashion industry would be the amount of different talent there is within it. It would be a pleasure to be able to share my work with the world and collaborate with other brands and designers. Can't stress this enough but networking and connecting more to build my brand more is what true drives my excitement. I want tob share my ideas and gain new ideas.

Who are some of your favorite designers, fashion writers, stylists, photographers, etc.?

My favorite designers are Yohji Yamamoto (Y-3), Kanye West (Yeezy), Rick Owens, Raf Simons, and Cinzia Araia.

Who are your dream clients? Why?

My dream clients would be those who would like to stand out from the crowd and make a bold statement. Those who want to venture with an athletic appearance.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years?

Within the next five years I see myself with a design crafted. Whether it'll be my first prototype done or starting to produce multiple manufactured pairs. I plan to have outerwear for my brand take a step forward into the next level to complement the footwear designs I will have produced.

What are your next steps in furthering your business?

The next steps in furthering my business is volunteering at a shoe repair shop to learn more about the anatomy of a shoe, I am also going back to college to complete a certificate program specializing in data analytics and retail marketing. I want to expand my knowledge on the business aspect of the industry.

Related Posts

See All
31fdb1_52bb78675b5347ac874fe546fc466985~
bottom of page