top of page

ABOUT ME 

IMG_2146.JPG

Tyanne, a Philadelphia/New Jersey based lifestyle blogger. Follow her on her journey as she jumps into the fashion industry with a fresh mind and new perspectives... 

 

Want to learn more about Tyanne?

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

Never Miss

The Latest Practically Poised News

PostsThat You'll Love

Related Posts  

You Need to Check Out

Protective Hair Styles Changing the Game: Marley Twists

So I am currently in the process of a natural hair journey, my goal is to grow my hair out to waist length. I am half way there and the journey thus far has been a great learning experience. What I will do after I reach that goal is currently unknown but that’s besides the point. During my personal hair journey I have had to take steps and follow specific hair regimens in order to achieve my goal as quickly as possible. With all of this hair on my head and the heat of the summer sun, protective hair styles have been my best friend. This is the primary method I use to protect and grow my hair out.

For the past two weeks I was wearing my hair in large Marley twists, one form of a protective hairstyle. I love this type of hair style for the summer; it hasn’t failed me in the past and it definitely didn’t this time around. Twists are great protective hair style because it puts your real hair away while giving it time to breathe and grow. It also prevents you from consistently putting your hands in your hair, changing, and retouching hairstyles on a daily basis.

These twists have allowed me to just get up and go in the morning. I have been stress free without a thought about the heat, humidity, or even what to do with my hair for the day. Another great thing about this style of Marley twists is that they look so natural. I got many compliments from people who believed that it was my actual hair which is a huge plus. Who wouldn’t want a style that looks natural while protecting your hair at the same time!

While protective styles are great they come with a major misconception that many fall victim to. There are so many women who believe that since the twists are a “protective” style that they do not require any maintenance. This belief is completely false, protective styles are an aid when protecting your hair, but they do require a little effort so that one may reap the benefits of the style. The real hair coming from your scalp demands a degree of tender, love, and care in order to actually prosper and grow while maintaining length and health.

Related Posts

See All
31fdb1_52bb78675b5347ac874fe546fc466985~
bottom of page